grad school

The story so far…

Right, so… I moved here:

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.00.25 PMWhere they have doughnuts that watch you…

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.01.30 PM

And I finally decided to learn to be a sort-of bike commuter. Behold: Shadowfax the Magnificent!

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.01.08 PM

…And now my legs look like this:

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.01.46 PM

My program takes a mentor-based approach, and my mentor has told me to stop working the way I’ve been working for a while– to open up, explore, and nurture the creative practice. Part of this practice has included creating a collection of inspiration and resonant items– lots of pictures, etc. It’s sort of like making a visual representation of my head.  A psychological mood board.

Another part has involved poking around in vinvtage stores, where I found PONIES!

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.02.24 PM

Ponies of all sizes!

I can’t exactly explain the allure– it’s surely at least partially nostalgia-based, as I had a LOT of ponies as a kid, but there’s also something just aesthetically pleasing to me about some of them. They are a nicely-shaped object, and certainly cute. We are doing a lot of reading and discussion about objects and our relation to them, what gives an object value, the nature of craft vs. art or design, the psychological resonance of everyday objects, etc. and all this was rattling about in my head. When I saw the pony on the left, something just struck me about it. I felt the need to rescue and resuscitate it; I also felt as if it was a totem object– something of potentially profound significance or spirituality waiting to be found. This is what art school will do to you…

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.03.01 PM

So I took it home and took it’s face off.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.03.19 PM

Our process here is big on iterations– you don’t do just one of something– so I got myself a mini-herd to play with. Originally I thought I’d plan each one out– have a concept and design plan, but then I remembered I’m supposed to be playing and experimenting, and definitely not overthinking, so I just went for it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.03.28 PM

Primed Ponies.Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.03.50 PM

Pony workstation.
Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.04.08 PM

In-progress poniesScreen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.04.57 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.05.24 PM


Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.05.37 PMPonies set up for first critique session
Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.05.14 PM

Part of my visual mind-mapping. This took up a whole wall. I had more pictures but my phone has eaten them in a dramatic fit of pique. Have I mentioned that electronics seem to commit suicide around me?

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.04.37 PM

Crit went pretty well. I really need to practice speaking about my work; I tend to get so nervous that I am not able to pay as much attention as I would like because I am busy calming the fight-or-flight stuff that is happening. It is also so hard to allow yourself to be vulnerable and open to questioning, as opposed to coming at it from a defensive position. This experience of changing my working patterns has been both hard and freeing, but it did put me slightly in a place of feeling like I needed to defend what I’d been spending my time on, that I’d been doing enough. I think a lot of us felt that way… Anyway I survived and the exploration continues.

I’m adding in new things this week but I’m still working on the ponies. I am still enjoying them and they also seem to serve as a tool to think with my hands. None of them are exactly done but this one is close. I discovered there was a run of large, 9″ tall ponies in 2006 and I have managed to snag a few of them. The large size is so nice to work on and feels very compelling; my theory is because it’s the proper pony-to-person ratio for an adult.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 3.19.09 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 3.19.28 PM

Through the mind-mapping, I began to recognize (or remember) how much language and visual communication and codes are resonant with me. This has me starting to play with letter forms… 
Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.05.53 PM

So that’s that. More to come.

Standard

5 thoughts on “The story so far…

  1. Also, would you ever sell some? My sisters and I LOVED My Little Ponies when we were kids, and they would love to get one of these awesome painted ponies for Christmas. Seriously, all three of them would probably put their pony in a central location as a conversation piece. (My youngest sister has Barbie and Skipper in her living room, driving around topless in a pink convertible.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

